Now I finally bottled the Honey porter last night. And once again reminded myself that I don't necessarily hate bottling, actually quite enjoy it. But bottling from a pot after mixing in the priming sugar/honey is not great. The auto-siphon is at a bad angle, damn near popped out of the pot, the curl of the tube would knock over an empty bottle if I let it go for a split second, then of course trub I picked up from the carboy was hard to filter out. So I'll end up with sediment riddled bottles like the brown ale (yeasty as hell). 

So I've figured two things:
1) I will start doing the secondary transfer like my bud of the jalapeno lager fame has been doing
2) I will bottle straight from the carboy, which allows the auto-siphon to be mounted, stay upright and make it a far simpler less potentially messy process. 

All in all the porter smelled delicious but I didn't try a sip. Yield was just shy of 9 bottles. Half a bottle at the end and that was with pouring everything, including the trubby bottom into the last bottle. That one will taste pretty funky I bet. 



Leave a Reply.