Batch number 2: The Brewer's Market Belgian Dubbel
Yield: 5x 650ml bottles

A nice odd batch, cooking went wayyyyyyyy smoother being more familiar with the process. Now due to the untimely death of a close friend who's family is like our own, literally on the day I was supposed to bottle this batch, it sat for an extra week in the primary before finally being bottled. I chose the 650ml bottles for this on purpose and thankfully Cameron's Brewery puts two of my favourites, their Rye Pale Ale and Obsidian Rum Cask Porter, in bottles this size. Which I consider a "proper" serving size. This whole 355ml thing is...quaint.  

When closet time is done, taste test it, see how it's turned out and if appropriate, I'll be passing along a bottle to my sister and her husband who were very close to our fallen comrade, and another to his father and brother. 

Now initially, when it was first put into the primary the instructions said to put in "half" the yeast. Not having a small enough measuring cup handy I had to eyeball it so no idea if I tossed in half, more, or less. 

Figured from the effects I'd tossed in possibly too much due to the fact that the blowoff tube for the first couple days needed some space. For both the IPA and Dubbel I'd used my second carboy as the sanitzer blowoff holder. 

Thank trout I did. 

The dubbel went gyser on me and the sanitizer in the blowoff carboy was as dark as the primary and tube had to be soaked for the better half of a day before I could get it cleaned out from all the gunk. The primary bubbled like a pissed off volcanic crater. If i'd used a smaller bowl or glass to hold it there would have been a moat of dark beer flooding the bottom of my closet. What a waste that would be... 



Leave a Reply.