Alright that Weebly App for iOS is nice, but when it crashes.... it crashes hard.

Anyhow I digress. 

First batch ever! (yay!) 
Brooklyn Brew Shops Everyday IPA recipe kit 
Yield: 9 x 355ml bottles
Code Name: Jupiter's Arse
Result: quite palatable, better than expected, room for improvement

Now.... one of the challenges in home brewing is always space. As previously mentioned why I already love the concept of 1 Gallon batches. The other: 

Cats. I love them. But they love to be cats. 

Now the most important thing about brewing is the sterilization hands down. Anything stray get in there that doesn't belong you can end up with all manner of unpleasantness. Go figure the moment I had my back turned one of our little furballs (Jupiter be his name) decides it's a great time to take a tour of the table. I catch the little blighter on the table sniffing, nuzzling and rubbing against all my previous sanitized equipment. When he sees me see him... he just plops his butt down on the paper towels and meows at me all proud of himself. Hence the code name of Jupiter's Arse. 

Sanitation round two thus begins. Brewing in an apartment is a two person job. 1 to brew, the other to entertain the kurious kitties away from the equipment.

Now the cook up itself was a lot of fun, high maintenance taking temperatures and by the end I was tired and ready to not be on my feet. But definitely worth it. Found it really hard to keep the temp where it was supposed to be and it ran hot in both mash and boil by anywhere from 10-20 over in both. 

Anyhoo, the eventual end result was a great first try. I chose, fittingly, Muskoka Mad Tom bottles to use for this batch. Good karma I suspect aided my fledgling efforts. 







Leave a Reply.